JUNE 7 - 8 , 2002

Report of The 6th Workshop on Numerical Ranges and Numerical Radii

The 6th Workshop on "Numerical Ranges and Numerical Radii" will be held at the Auburn University, Alabama from June 7 to June 8, 2001, in conjunction with the ILAS conference (June 10 - 13, 2002).

The workshop will take place at Parker Hall 316, click here to see the map.

Click here to see the Tentative program, titles, and abstracts of talks.

Thanks are due to the Dean's Office of COSAM and the Mathematics Department of Auburn University for their generous support.


The purpose of the workshop is to stimulate research and foster interaction of researchers interested in the subject. The informal workshop atmosphere will guarantee the exchange of ideas from different research areas and, hopefully, the participants will leave informed of the latest developments and newest ideas. One may visit the website WONRA to see some background about the subject and previous meetings.

Registration fee and financial support

There will be no registration fees for the workshop. Limited financial support to participants based on need may be requested. (Registration form is at the end of this web page.)


Confirmed Speakers and Particiapants

  • Tsuyoshi Ando (Hokkaido University),
  • Ari Aluthge (Marshall University),
  • Natalia Bebiano (University of Coimbra),
  • Raymond Chan (University of Hong Kong),
  • Mao-Ting Chien (Soochow  University),
  • Man-Duen Choi (University of Toronto),
  • Gianni Codevico (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven Institution),
  • Charles Dolberry (Auburn University),
  • John Drew (William and Mary),
  • Jan Hauke (Adam Mickiewicz University),
  • Masatoshi Ito (Tokyo University of Sciences),
  • Sang-Gu Lee (Sungkyunkwan University),
  • Tom Milligan (William and Mary),
  • Tom Morley (Georgia Tech.), morley@MATH.GATECH.EDU
  • Hiroshi Nakazato (Hirosaki University),
  • Marek Niegoda (Agricultural University of Lublin), and
  • Peter Nylen (Auburn University),
  • Kazuyoshi Okubo (Hokkaido University of Education),
  • Ed Poon (College of William and Mary),
  • Yiu-Tung Poon (Iowa State University),
  • Joao da Providencia (U. of Coimbra),
  • Martine Reurings (Free University Amsterdam),
  • Leiba Rodman (William and Mary),
  • Lemos Rute (Aveiro University),
  • Abbas Salemi (University of Toronto),
  • Jose Dias da Silva (University of Lisbon),
  • Graca Soares (Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro),
  • Ilya Spitkovsky (William and Mary),
  • Nung-Sing Sze (University of Hong Kong),
  • Bit-Shun Tam (Tamkang University),
  • Michael Tsatsomeros (Washington State University),
  • Frank Uhlig (Auburn University),
  • Takeaki Yamazaki (Kanagawa University),
  • Wen Yan (Auburn University),
  • Fuzhen Zhang (Nova Southeastern University),

    Organizers and Registration form

    Please fill out the following form and send it by e-mail or regular mail to any one of the organizers:

    Chi-Kwong Li ( )
    Department of Mathematics
    The College of William and Mary
    Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795.

    Tin-Yau Tam ( )
    Department of Mathematics
    Auburn University
    Auburn, AL 36849-5310